New Releases

Transmedia Branding: Engage Your Audience

You’re either fully engaged with your audience or you’re irrelevant. The choice is yours.GEK6NNPc27eZ5GvjPPH3b9WZEZzJV9Hb3Jgvcvt8Uzk

What do Chipotle, The Matrix, Intel, Old Spice and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles branding and marketing experts know that you don’t? How have disruptive economics, consumerism, and spreadable media evolved the relationship between brands and their audiences?

We’ve heard it before—decreased barriers to entry, increased accessibility to technology, and the ability to virtually connect with experts around the globe have ignited a fiercely competitive battle for eyeballs. In this crowded media environment, how can brands create campaigns that people want to engage with and to share with others? What mistakes should be avoided?

In Transmedia Branding: Engage Your Audience, Burghardt Tenderich and Jerried Williams traverse the entertainment industry, technology sector, and consumer goods to show the timeless relevance of some of the most important contributors in marketing and communications: David Ogilvy, Edward Bernays, Philip Kotler, and Henry Jenkins. They provide a methodology for developing transmedia branding campaigns to engage audiences along with multiple case studies for further insight.

The e-book targets marketing and public relations practitioners, students, academics and anybody interested in the rapidly evolving world of marketing communications and public relations.

This e-book was released August 1, 2015 and is available for purchase at amazon.com.


Mixed Race 3.0: Risk and Reward in the Digital Age

mixedrace_cover.FINALHave you been asked, “What nationality are you?” or “What country are you from?”
Have you been puzzled when forms tell you to “select only one ethnicity”?
Have you been disturbed to hear that you’re the “face of a colorblind future”?
If you answered ‘yes’ to any of these questions, Mixed Race 3.0 is for you.

Mixed Race 3.0: Risk and Reward in the Digital Age is an e-book that contains 17 contributions (many with exclusive photos) from award-winning writers, researchers and artists who embody a “mixed mindset.” Audacious and razor-sharp, Mixed Race 3.0 exposes the many monochromatic portrayals of multiracial people’s richness, variety and struggles in history, politics, mass-media and technology. Fans of Loving Day, Race Remixed, The Mixed Experience Podcast, Mixed Girl Problems and Critical Mixed Race Studies will be captivated, incensed and inspired by the powerful discussions of risks and rewards of being multiracial today.

Beyond memoir or case study, this book offers three versions of what it means to be mixed from a variety of voices. Version 1 is “Mixed Race 1.0: A Monologue.” Or, how did multiracial identities emerge in the U.S. and what challenges did they face? Version 2 is “Mixed Race 2.0: A Dialogue.” Or, what are some core differences between how multiracials think and talk about themselves and how U.S. and global cultures think and talk about them? Version 3 is “Mixed Race 3.0: A Megalogue.” Or, where in the world is this entire thing going as technology plays more of a role?

With honest storytelling and up-to-date critical inquiry, Mixed Race 3.0 plots a path not just to being mixed in the 21st century, but one open to anyone interested in simply “how to be.”  The result is a poignant, intelligent, and daring journey that dissects the controversial label—multiracial—and challenges any politician, pundit or provocateur that purports to speak for or about all multiracial people.

Edited by Ulli K. Ryder and Marcia Alesan Dawkins. Foreword by Herman S. Gray, Professor and Chair, American Studies, UC Santa Cruz.

This e-book was released January 30, 2015 and is available for purchase at a discounted price at amazon.com.


WARNING! GRAPHIC CONTENT: Political Cartoons, Comix and the Uncensored Artistic Mind

WARNING. Cover.4-29-14.FINAL(2)WARNING! Graphic Content lives up to its title.  Unabashedly liberal, award-winning cartoonist and writer Dwayne Booth (aka “Mr. Fish”), examines this pictorial language, deciphers its substructure and translates its unique alphabet into a wholly accessible vocabulary.  Through extensive interviews, numerous audio and video clips and nearly 400 provocative images, Mr. Fish demonstrates unequivocally how uncensored commentarial art and weaponized jokes from cartoonists, satirists and fine artists throughout history provide humanity with its most revealing self-portraits.  This is work that provokes thought and commentary, and definitely not intended for the faint of heart!

This e-book was released October 10, 2014 and is available for purchase at a discounted price at amazon.com.